New Travel Restrictions by the Trump Administration


President Trump has re-ignited the battle against immigration in the United States. The president on Sunday added a new country to the original six banning people from these nations from entering the United States. As he launched the latest ban, President Trump said that citizens from these nations posed a national security problem to the United States. However, the new ban looks to be far-fetched from the original ban that received a chaotic rollout in his first 100 days as president. It’s for this reason that immigration officials said that the new ban had been arrived at following rigorous and deliberative examinations of the security risks these people possess. Perhaps adding a non-Muslim nation on this list might have helped cool the religion discrimination assumption by many people. The state department issued a statement saying that it had banned people from North Korea, Chad, Somalia, Yemen, Syria, Libya, and Iran from entering the United States. During the announcement, President Trump also said that people from Venezuela and Iraq would face some travel restrictions before they are allowed into the US. Some of these restrictions may involve heightened scrutiny. The previous ban came to an end on Sunday. The order was accompanied by a furious legal challenge and caused chaos in airports handling international flights. The United States Supreme Court will listen to the case on 10th October. For starters, the new nations that have been added to the list include North Korea, Venezuela, and Chad.

In a statement, President Trump said that it’s his responsibility to protect the interests and security of the United States. According to White House officials, the latest proclamation is supposed to carry the same force as the previous executive order. President Trump said that these restrictions would be in place until the necessary inadequacies are addressed by the relevant governments. With this new set of rules, each country has a specific set of restrictions. This means that citizens from these nations cannot go to vacation in the US, study or work in the US. People from Iran are still allowed to study in the United States. The only difference is that these people will be subjected to more screening. However, no permanent residents of the United States will be affected by these new rules. For clarification purposes, no Visa will be revoked for people from these nations who are already in the US. This makes it possible for students to continue with their studies. However, if a visa expires, the individual will be subjected to screening.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here